The concept of Ayurveda is living with the harmony of nature .The style of living emphasize prevention over cure .It is established by the ancient sages especially those who wanted to enjoy the state of healthy .Its daily and seasonal regimens, dietary guidance, methods to preserve health and prevent disease etc were explained in detailed for the wellness of humanity .The concept of Ayurveda is blended with Panchamahabhutas ,thridoshas ,Saptha dhathu and Mana. According to Indian philosophy, everything in the universe is composed of the five basic elements, The Panchamahabhutas. The permutation and combination of these forms the three doshas – bio-energetic forces which govern our health and determine our prakrti, or physical constitution. The three gunas – psychic forces- determine our mental and spiritual health.

Tridosha (3 humors)

  • Vata Dosha

    The Vata dosha is the most important of the three doshas. This is for two reasons. First, if Vata becomes imbalanced for long enough and sufficiently enough, it can also cause the other two doshas (Pitta or Kapha) to become imbalanced. It can even cause both Pitta and Kapha to become imbalanced; this is called a Tridoshic imbalance and is the most difficult to overcome. Secondly, Vata is the main driver or mover of the body, including the other two doshas, all the tissues (dhatus) and all of the waste products (malas).

    Vata provides the following functions:

    • All eliminations: fetus, semen, feces, urine, sweat, and a few others
    • Assists with all the various metabolisms in the body (called Agni in Ayurveda)
    • Controls all of the various movement of body (both physical & mental),
    • including such things as respiration, heartbeat, motivation and contraction of muscles
    • Relays all sensory input from the various sense organs to the brain
  • Pitta Dosha

    The Pitta dosha is associated with fire or heat. Wherever there is transformation, there is Pitta (doing its job). Whether it is in the GI tract, liver, skin, eyes or brain doesn’t matter, for these are all locations where Pitta works.

    Pitta provides the following functions:

    • Metabolism – at all the various levels from digestion of food to transformation of all other material
    • Thermogenesis – maintains the proper body temperature
    • Vision – converts external images into optic nerve impulses
    • Appetite – the feeling of hunger and thirst
    • Comprehension – of information into knowledge, also reasoning and judgment
    • Courage & Braveness – to face the situation
    • Complexion – gives color and softness to skin
  • Kapha Dosha

    Kapha is the heaviest of the three doshas. It provides the structures and the lubrication that the body needs. These qualities help to counterbalance Vata’s movement and Pitta’s metabolism. A big, heavyset football play or wrestler is a person with a predominance of Kapha.

    Kapha provides the following functions:

    • Strength – to perform physical tasks
    • Moistness & Lubrication – to prevent excessive friction from occurring between the various parts of the body
    • Stability – to add the necessary grounding aspect to both mind and body
    • Mass & Structure – to provide fullness to bodily tissues
    • Fertility & Virility – to produce healthy offspring

7 Dhatus

The word dhatu comes from the root word dha which means basis or foundation. In Ayurvedic medicine, the structural components that nourish the body are called dhatus or tissue levels. There are seven primary sapta dhatus:

  • Rasa – plasma tissue, lymph
  • Rakta – blood, red blood cells
  • Mamsa – muscle
  • Meda – adipose tissue, fat
  • Asthi – bone and cartilage
  • Majja – nerve, marrow, connective tissue
  • Shukra/artava – male and female reproductive system